InCHIP Researchers

List of People
NameTitleDepartmentEmail
Cesar Abadia-Barrero, DMScAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Anthropology
cesar.abadia@uconn.edu
Rebecca Acabchuk, PhDPostdoctoral Fellow (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
rebecca.acabchuk@uconn.edu
Tatiana Andreyeva, PhDDirector of Economic Initiatives / Associate Professor (PI)
Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity / Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
tatiana.andreyeva@uconn.edu
Robert Aseltine, PhDProfessor and Chair (PI)
Behavioral Science and Community Health
aseltine@uchc.edu
Robert Astur, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
robert.astur@uconn.edu
Abiodun AtoyolePostdoctoral Fellow
PhD, MSc
Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity
William Baker, Jr. PharmDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Pharmacy Practice
william.baker_jr@uconn.edu
Richard Bannor, MPHGraduate Student and Graduate Research Assistant
Allied Health Sciences and Center for mHealth and Social Media
Keith Bellizzi, PhD, MPHProfessor (PI)
Department of Human Development and Family Sciences
keith.m.bellizzi@uconn.edu
Saraswathi Bellur, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Communication
saras.bellur@uconn.edu
Mary Bernstein, PhDProfessor
Sociology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
mary.bernstein@uconn.edu
Terry Berthelot, MDW, JDAssistant Professor In-Residence (PI)
Human Development and Family Sciences
terry.berthelot@uconn.edu
S. Megan Berthold, PhDDirector of Field Education
Associate Professor (PI)
School of Social Work
megan.berthold@uconn.edu
Loneke Blackman Carr, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Nutritional Sciences / Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity
loneke.blackman_carr@uconn.edu
Melissa Bray, PhDProfessor
Educational Psychology
melissa.bray@uconn.edu
Edna Brown, PhDAssociate Professor
Human Development and Family Sciences
edna.brown@uconn.edu
Nicola Bulled, PhDAssistant Research Professor (PI)
InCHIP
nicola.bulled@gmail.com
Jeffrey D. Burke, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
jeffrey.burke@uconn.edu
Lisa Butler, PhD, MPH, PhDAssociate Research Professor (PI)
InCHIP
lisa.butler@uconn.edu
Christopher Carroll, MD, MSProfessor (PI)
Pediatrics, UConn School of Medicine
ccarrol@connecticutchildrens.org
Douglas Casa, Ph.D., ATC, FNAK, FACSM, FNATAProfessor, Department of Kinesiology Director
Athletic Training Education Chief Executive Officer, Korey Stringer Institute
Research Associate, Human Performance Laboratory (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
douglas.casa@uconn.edu
Caitlin Caspi, ScDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Allied Health Sciences / Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity
caitlin.caspi@uconn.edu
Sandra Chafouleas, PhDBoard of Trustees Distinguished Professor (PI)
Department of Educational Psychology
sandra.chafouleas@uconn.edu
Clewiston Challenger, PhDAssistant Professor
Department of Educational Psychology
clewic@uconn.edu
John Christensen, PhDAssociate Professor
Department of Communication
john.christensen@uconn.edu
Rachel Cohen, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Human Development and Family Sciences
rachel.c.cohen@uconn.edu
Craig Coleman, PharmDProfessor (PI)
Department of Pharmacy Practice
craig.coleman@hhchealth.org
Cristina Colón-Semenza , PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
cristina.colon-semenza@uconn.edu
Emil Coman, Ph.D.Research Associate II
Health Disparities Institute, UConn Health
COMAN@uchc.edu
Xiaomei Cong, PhD, RN, FAANAssociate Dean for Research and Scholarship
Professor (PI)
School of Nursing
xiaomei.cong@uconn.edu
Kristen Cooksey Stowers, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Allied Health Sciences
kristen.cooksey@uconn.edu
Michael M. Copenhaver, PhDProfessor (PI)
Department of Allied Health Sciences
michael.copenhaver@uconn.edu
Deborah Cornman, PhDAssociate Director
InCHIP
deborah.cornman@uconn.edu
Dean Cruess, PhDProfessor (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
dean.cruess@uconn.edu
Ido Davidesco, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Educational Psychology
ido.davidesco@uconn.edu
Shardé Davis, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Communication
sharde.davis@uconn.edu
Amanda Denes, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Communication
amanda.denes@uconn.edu
Dipak Dey, PhDBoard of Trustees Distinguished Professor (PI)
Department of Statistics
dipak.dey@uconn.edu
Jennifer Dineen, PhDProgram Director, Graduate Program in Survey Research
Associate Professor In-Residence (PI)
Department of Public Policy
jennifer.dineen@uconn.edu
Lindsay DiStefano, PhD, ATCDepartment Head
Associate Professor (PI)

Department of Kinesiology
lindsay.distefano@uconn.edu
Valerie Duffy, PhD, RDDirector, Graduate Program
Professor (PI)

Department of Allied Health Sciences
valerie.duffy@uconn.edu
Jacob Earp, Ph.D.Assistant Professor (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
Lisa Eaton, PhDProfessor (PI)
Department of Human Development and Family Sciences
lisa.eaton@uconn.edu
Caitlin Elsaesser, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
School of Social Work
caitlin.elsaesser@uconn.edu
Deborah Fein, PhDBoard of Trustees Distinguished Professor (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
deborah.fein@uconn.edu
Michael Fendrich, PhDAssociate Dean for Research
Professor (PI)

School of Social Work
michael.fendrich@uconn.edu
Nathan Fiala, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Agriculture and Resource Economics
nathan.fiala@uconn.edu
Jeffrey Fisher, PhDBoard of Trustees Distinguished Professor Emeritus (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
jeffrey.fisher@uconn.edu
Frances Fleming-Milici, PhDDirector of Marketing Initiatives (PI)
Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity
frances.flemingmilici@uconn.edu
Richard Fortinsky, PhDProfessor of Medicine at the Center on Aging (PI)
Department of Medicine
fortinsky@uchc.edu
Kim Gans, PhD, MPHProfessor (PI)
Department of Human Development and Family Sciences
kim.gans@uconn.edu
Stephanie Gernant, PharmD, MSAssistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice (PI)
School of Pharmacy
stephanie.gernant@uconn.edu
Meg Gerrard, PhDResearch Professor, Social Psychology (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
meg.gerrard@uconn.edu
Debarchana (Debs) Ghosh, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Geography
debarchana.ghosh@uconn.edu
Rick Gibbons, PhDProfessor, Social Psychology (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
rick.gibbons@uconn.edu
Neal Glaviano, PhDAssistant Professor, Athletic Training Clinical Coordinator (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
neal.glaviano@uconn.edu
Susan Glenney, PT, DPT, MS, GCS, CSCSAssociate Professor In Residence (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
susan.glenney@uconn.edu
Jared GoetzGraduate Student
Allied Health Sciences
jared.goetz@uconn.edu
Amy Gorin, PhDDirector, InCHIP
Professor, Psychological Sciences (PI)
amy.gorin@uconn.edu
Damion Grasso, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Psychiatry
dgrasso@uchc.edu
Jennifer Harris, PhD, MBASenior Research Advisor, Marketing Initiatives (PI)
Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity
jennifer.harris@uconn.edu
Steven Harrison, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
steven.harrison@uconn.edu
Victor Hesselbrock, PhDVice Chair
Professor (PI)
Department of Psychiatry
hesselbrock@uchc.edu
Lisa Holle, Pharm.D., BCOP, FHOPA, FISOPPClinical Professor of Pharmacy Practice (PI)
School of Pharmacy
lisa.holle@uconn.edu
Tania Huedo-Medina, PhDAssociate Professor of Biostatistics (PI)
Department of Allied Health Sciences
Department of Statistics
InCHIP
Department of Community Medicine and Health Care, School of Medicine

tania.huedo-medina@uconn.edu
Blair T. Johnson, PhDBoard of Trustees Distinguished Professor (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
blair.t.johnson@uconn.edu
Michelle Judge, PhDAssociate Professor
School of Nursing
michelle.judge@uconn.edu
Seth Kalichman, PhDProfessor (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
seth.k@uconn.edu
Kyounghae Kim, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
School of Nursing
kyounghae.kim@uconn.edu
Steven Kinsey, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
School of Nursing
steven.kinsey@uconn.edu
Kenneth Lachlan, PhDDepartment Head
Professor (PI)
Department of Communication
kenneth.lachlan@uconn.edu
Tricia M. Leahey, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Allied Health Sciences
tricia.leahey@uconn.edu
Elaine Choung-Hee Lee, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
elaine.c.lee@uconn.edu
Eva Lefkowitz, PhDDepartment Head and Professor (PI)
Department of Human Development and Family Sciences
eva.lefkowitz@uconn.edu
Leah Lessard, PhDPostdoctoral Fellow (PI)
UConn Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity
leah.lessard@uconn.edu
James Magnuson, PhDProfessor (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
james.magnuson@uconn.edu
Sally Mancini, MPHDirector of Advocacy Resources (PI)
Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity
sally.mancini@uconn.edu
Jeanne McCaffery, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Allied Health Sciences
jeanne.mccaffery@uconn.edu
Paula McCauley, DNP, APRN, FAANPAGACNP Track Coordinator, Associate Clinical Professor (PI)
School of Nursing
paula.mccauley@uconn.edu
Deborah McDonald, RN, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
School of Nursing
deborah.mcdonald@uconn.edu
Jennifer McGarry, PhDProfessor (PI)
Department of Educational Leadership
jennifer.mcgarry@uconn.edu
Rory McGloin, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Communication
rory.mcgloin@uconn.edu
Stephanie Milan, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
stephanie.milan@uconn.edu
Justin Nash, PhDDepartment Head
Professor

Allied Health Sciences
Justin.Nash@uconn.edu
Kelley Newlin Lew, DNSc, ARNP-C, CDEAssociate Professor (PI)
School of Nursing
kelley.newlin_lew@uconn.edu
Sherry Pagoto, PhDDirector, UConn Center for mHealth and Social Media / Professor (PI)
Department of Allied Health Sciences
sherry.pagoto@uconn.edu
Crystal Park, PhDProfessor (PI)
Department of Psychological Sciences
crystal.park@uconn.edu
Linda Pescatello, PhD, FACSMBoard of Trustees Distinguished Professor (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
linda.pescatello@uconn.edu
Rebecca Puhl, PhDProfessor (PI)
Human Development and Family Sciences
rebecca.puhl@uconn.edu
Kerri M. Raissian, PhDAssociate Professor
Department of Public Policy
kerri.raissian@uconn.edu
Carla Rash, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
School of Medicine
rashc@uchc.edu
Greg Rhee, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Public Health Sciences
rhee@uchc.edu
Nathaniel Rickles, PharmD, PhD, BCPPAssociate Professor of Pharmacy Practice (PI)
School of Pharmacy
nathaniel.rickles@uconn.edu
Beth Russell, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Human Development and Family Sciences
beth.russell@uconn.edu
Lisa Sanetti, PhDProfessor and Research Scientist (PI)
Department of Educational Psychology
lisa.sanetti@uconn.edu
Melissa Santos, Ph.D.Associate Professor (PI)
Department of Pediatrics
msantos@connecticutchildrens.org
Stephen Schensul, PhDProfessor (PI)
Department of Public Health Sciences
schensul@uchc.edu
Elizabeth D. Schifano, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Statistics
elizabeth.schifano@uconn.edu
Marlene Schwartz, PhDDirector, Rudd Center for Obesity and Food Policy
Professor (PI), Department of Human Development and Family Sciences

marlene.schwartz@uconn.edu
Natalie Shook, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
School of Nursing
natalie.shook@uconn.edu
Roman Shrestha, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Allied Health Sciences
roman.shrestha@uconn.edu
Marie Smith, PharmDDr. Henry A. Palmer Endowed Professor of Community Pharmacy Practice (PI)
Department of Pharmacy Practice
marie.smith@uconn.edu
Leslie Snyder, PhDProfessor Emerita (PI)
Department of Communication
Leslie.Snyder@uconn.edu
Diana Sobieraj, PharmD, FCCP, BCPSAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Pharmacy Practice
diana.sobieraj@uconn.edu
Richard Sosis, PhDJames Barnett Professor of Humanistic Anthropology (PI)
Department of Anthropology
richard.sosis@uconn.edu
Sudha Srinivasan, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
sudha.srinivasan@uconn.edu
Angela Starkweather, PhD, RN, ANCP-BC, CNRN, FAANAssociate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor (PI)

School of Nursing
Sandro Steinbach, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics
sandro.steinbach@uconn.edu
Matthew SullivanGraduate Student
Psychological Sciences
matthew.c.sullivan@uconn.edu
Ryan Talbert, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Sociology
ryan.talbert@uconn.edu
Anna Tarakanova, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Mechanical Engineering
anna.tarakanova@uconn.edu
Beth Taylor, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Kinesiology
Beth.Taylor@uconn.edu
Howard Tennen, PhDBoard of Trustees Distinguished Professor, Community Medicine (PI)
Department of Public Health Sciences
tennen@uchc.edu
Jaci VanHeest, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Educational Psychology
Department of Kinesiology
jaci.vanheest@uconn.edu
Fei Wang, PharmDAssociate Clinical Professor of Pharmacy Practice (PI)
Department of Pharmacy Practice
fei.wang@hhchealth.org
Xiaojing Wang, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Statistics
xiaojing.wang@uconn.edu
Molly Waring, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Allied Health
molly.waring@uconn.edu
Ryan Watson, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Human Development and Family Sciences
ryanwatson@uconn.edu
C. Michael White, PharmD, FCP, FCCPDistinguished Professor of Pharmacy Practice (PI)
Department of Pharmacy Practice
charles.white@uconn.edu
Sarah Willen, PhD, MPHAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Anthropology
sarah.willen@uconn.edu
Andrew Winokur, MD, PhDProfessor (PI)
Department of Psychiatry
awinokur@uchc.edu
Ran Xu, PhDAssistant Professor (PI)
Department of Allied Health Sciences
ran.2.xu@uconn.edu
Gee Su Yang, PhD, RNAssistant Professor (PI)
School of Nursing
gee_su.yang@uconn.edu
Yuping Zhang, PhDAssociate Professor (PI)
Department of Statistics
yuping.zhang@uconn.edu